Election 2024 — More than 800 seats filled as Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil battle for top spot

We’re into the third day of counting in the local elections and, when all of the 949 seats up for grabs are filled, it looks as though Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil will be the dominant parties in local Government. 

We’ll have live updates here as counts continue.

At a glance 

  • More than 800 seats in the local elections have been filled, with Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil battling to win the most seats.
  • In Cork, all seats have been filled on the city council. History was made with the election of the city’s first black city councillor – the Green Party’s Honore Kamegni.
  • It’s the same in the Cork County Hall race, however a recount in Cobh is expected to take place today. Follow all the developments from Cork at our dedicated live blog.
  • No candidate has reached the quota for the Dublin MEP seats after the first count.
  • First counts in the other European Parliament constituencies – Ireland South and Midlands-Northwest – will be announced on Monday afternoon.
  • Monday will also see counting commence in the Limerick mayoral election
  • Follow all the results across the weekend at the Irish Examiner election hub.
  • Follow all the election news from Cork at our dedicated live blog.


In the European parliamentary elections, Far-right party gains thus far have been such that they dealt stunning defeats to two of the bloc’s most important leaders: French President Emmanuel Macron and German Chancellor Olaf Scholz.


While most count centres closed for the night between 10pm and 11pm, some kept going into this morning. 

To begin, let’s recap some overnight developments:

• Full recounts have also been ordered in the Letterkenny electoral area in Donegal and in Boyle in Co Roscommon. Both are expected to get underway at around midday today.

• In Sligo, voters bucked the national trend by electing two fewer Fine Gael councillors, while Labour will have a Sligo councillor for the first time in a decade.

• After a marathon count of more than 40 hours, all of the seats in Athlone were filled shortly before 4am. Former Independent candidate Domnick Connolly garnered 1,116 votes and was elected for Fine Gael without reaching the quota on the 9th count.

• The Ballina LEA in Co Mayo is the only LEA in the country to not have returned at least a first count yet. 


In Cavan, count eight in Bailieborough Cootehill sees three candidates elected without meeting the quota: Fianna Fáil’s Clifford Kelly, Fine Gael’s Val Smith, and Fianna Fáil’s Niall Smith.

Sitting Fianna Fáil councillor Aiden Fitzpatrick has lost his seat at the expense of running mate Niall Smith – cousin of Deputy Niamh Smyth.

Counting in Cavan has concluded with all 18 seats filled. Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have six each; Sinn Féin has three; and one each for Aontú, Independent Ireland and a non party candidate.

The big story here is Sinn Féin gained two seats at the expense of the two main parties.

Looking to Sligo and two Fine Gael candidates Gerard Mullaney and Dara Mulvey have been elected on the tenth count in Ballymote Tubbercurry while in Sligo Drumcliff Independent Marie Casserly and Sinn Féin’s Thomas Healy have been elected on the third count.


Sinn Féin’s Tom Barry and Fianna Fáil’s Jimmy Moloney have been re-elected to Kerry County Council.

They were the final two candidates to be confirmed in the Listowel LEA after 1am on Monday at the Tralee count centre.

In Killarney, a full Kenmare recount will be taking place from 9am while Killarney counting is ongoing.


The Wexford LEA has been completed at St Joseph’s in the early hours of Monday. Labour’s Catherine Biddy Walsh wins a second seat for the party in Wexford, while Raymond Shannon has won another seat for Verona Murphy’s Wexford Independent Alliance.

That’s it for this evening from Wexford but there are three full recounts coming in the morning. It ain’t over here yet by a long way!

On the 12th count in Tralee, Sinn Féin’s Paul Daly with 1,935 votes and independent Sam Locke with 1,725 votes both exceeded the quota of 1,688.

The next count will be the transfer of Mr Daly’s surplus of 247 votes.

Just before 1am, all of the seats in the Roscommon LEA have now filled.

Fine Gael first time candidate Gareth Scahill was elected to the fifth seat on 1,625, followed by Fianna Fáil candidate 1,393.

The quota was 1,491, meaning Mr Brennan was elected without reaching the quota.

Returning officer, Caitlin Conneely announced the results to the expectant crowd.

This means that FF has retained its three seats in the Roscommon Municipal District.


More from Dublin.

Fine Gael’s Jacqueline Burke was elected on the ninth count in Killiney-Shankill but counting of her surplus has been suspended until the morning.

In Dundrum, Independent Cllr Anne Colgan beat her Aontú challenger Liam Coughlan for the last seat, and was elected on the 11th count without reaching the quota.

Mr Coughlan was the party’s last remaining candidate of three in the local elections in this council.

There had been some optimism in Aontú that Máiréad Tóibín, sister of party leader Peadar Tóibín might make a breakthrough in Dun Laoghaire LEA but she went out on the eighth count.

 Ballot papers ready for the European election count at Nemo Rangers, Cork. Picture Dan Linehan
Ballot papers ready for the European election count at Nemo Rangers, Cork. Picture Dan Linehan


Fianna Fáil’s Michael Leane has been elected in Listowel having reached the quota of 2,095 on the eighth count with 2,213 votes.

In this LEA he joins Fine Gael councillor Mike Kennelly who topped the poll with 2,301 first preference votes, exceeding the quota of 2,095.

Liam ‘Speedy’ Nolan, an independent backed by the Healy-Raes, secured his seat with 2,223 votes on the first count also.

Fine Gael’s Michael Foley was elected in Listowel with 2,131 votes on the second count.

Counts are now underway to fill the final two seats in Listowel.

After a long night, counts are also still ongoing to fill all seven seats in the Tralee LEA.

Fianna Fáil’s Mikey Sheehy topped the poll in Tralee, while the Labour Party’s Terry O’Brien was also re-elected on the third count.

Sinn Féin’s Deirdre Ferris also secured her seat in Tralee, exceeding the quota on the fifth count.


In South Dublin, People Before Profit’s Darragh Adelaide, Independent Ireland’s Linda De Courcy, Fianna Fáil’s Trevor Gilligan, Social Democrats’ Eoin Ó Broin and Fine Gael’s Shirley O’Hara were all elected for Clondalkin on the 15th count.

While in Fingal, Aontú took a second seat as Gerard Sheehan won in Ongar. Fine Gael’s Kieran Dennison and Fianna Fáil’s Tom Kitt were also elected on the 11th count.

In Cavan, newcomer Stiofán Conaty takes the third seat in Bailieborough Cootehill for Sinn Féin. His surplus of 120 votes will now be redistributed in the eighth count.

Sinn Féin have now tripled their standing on Cavan County Council to win three seats – one in each LEA.

  • Catch up on all of Sunday’s events here

Check Also

Election 2024 — Battle for European seats heating up as counting continues

With fewer than 20 council seats left to be filled, Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil …